Red Wine Tomato Sauce

I’ve been having a tomato adventure lately.  In the last four weeks (and I kid you not), I’ve picked approximately 120lbs of delicious tomatoes that have naturalized themselves in my boyfriend’s parents’ garden.
This is only a fraction of what I’ve picked:

Holy tomato!

Now the Tomato Adventure of 2012 continues by… me cooking with them!

For just two people I’d cut this recipe in half.  I’m making big batches so I can freeze food for later.

Ingredients:

  • 2 red onions, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1.5 lbs ground turkey (substitute mushrooms here if you’re meatless)
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 8 cups tomatoes, chopped
  • 12 basil leaves (I have no idea what this would be converted into dried)
  • 20 oregano leaves (maybe a teaspoon or two dried?)
  • 3 teaspoons sea salt
  • small sprig of rosemary (maybe 1/2 teaspoon dried?)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
  • 1 tablespoon honey or sugar

What I did:

  • Saute the onion in the olive oil on medium heat while you prep the rest of the ingredients.  I highly suggest throwing everything but the optional meat, the bay leaves, and the rosemary sprig into a food processor or blender.  Give the onions a good 10 minutes to soften up.
  • Turn the heat up to med/high and brown the meat in the pan with the onions  if you’re using it.  Or throw in at least 1lb of sliced mushrooms.  Add the red wine and let it bubble for a bit to burn off the alcohol.
  • Pour in everything else and turn the heat down to med/low.
  • Let it simmer for 3-5 hours.  Fish out the rosemary sprig and bay leaves before serving.

This tastes pretty wine-y to Michael and me, but were don’t drink alcohol so we’re probably just not used to the flavor.  Definitely add the sweetener!  That really helped to balance out the wine.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Please stop making wonderful things. You are making it difficult for me to concentrate on … well, anything else! 😛

    Reply

  2. Posted by Arlene houghton on October 16, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    Just figured out how to re-add your wonderful blog, Kirsten…passing to others, also xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

