Post-Work Celebration Smoothie

It’s summertime.  That means it’s smoothie season!  I don’t give myself enough time in the morning to make these for breakfast, so I’ve been making them as a post-work treat.  They cool me down and give me the energy to cook dinner & clean house.

Currently Enjoying:

  • 3 ice cubes (I really should buy crushed ice, my blender isn’t very powerful)
  • 2-4 tablespoons vanilla yogurt (I use half a small container at a time, not sure on the measurement)
  • Small handful of fresh blueberries
  • 3/4 cup frozen fruit (I used strawberries & pineapple)
  • 1 teaspoon chia seeds  (why chia?)
  • Generous pinch of unsweetened coconut flakes
  • Trader Joe’s Dynamo Plus Calcium juice poured in while blending (you can use whatever juice you like, but I love this stuff!)

Freeze your own fruit:

Grow it yourself or buy it from local fruit stands.  Wash it thoroughly and cut it into small bite-sized pieces.  Lay it out on a metal baking sheet and freeze.  Then transfer to freezer bags or jars.

Leave a Reply

