Saag

Modified from the CSA email:

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch spinach
  • 1/2 bunch chard
  • 1 sweet potato, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon garam masala

What I did:

  • Wash the greens THOROUGHLY.  My spinach was still gritty when we ate it… whoops.
  • Stem & chop the greens.
  • Heat olive oil in a large pan.
  • Saute sweet potato & garlic for about two minutes, then start adding the greens.
  • Add 3/4 cup boiling water and seasonings, stir.
  • Cover and cook on low for about 20 minutes, then uncover and allow the liquid to cook down.
  • Add the garam masala, stir.

Quite tasty!  I’m not a huge fan of spinach as it tends to leave my teeth feeling weird.  This recipe definitely made it a lot more appealing… and my kitchen smelled incredible.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lanie Breazeale on July 1, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    And I thought I was the only one who felt spinach left a weird “feeling” in my mouth!
    Do you think it would be good with russets? I’m not a big fan of sweet potatoes.
    I’m always up for a good indian dish!

    Reply

    • You can substitute potatoes, but I really suggest trying the sweet potato first. I, too, am not a huge fan of the sweet potato. I wouldn’t eat mashed sweet potatoes on their own. But in this dish and in the sweet potato oven fries dish, it’s delicious! I think they just need certain spices to go with them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

