Cheese Garlic Onion Herb Bread

I got to come home from work almost 5 hours early today.  This means I had to find a project to tackle or risk driving myself insane.  Since it was below 60F in my house when I got home, I decided a baking project would hit the spot.

I did a little research, looked over some bread recipes, then went out on my own to make something…

Ingredients:

  • 2 cloves of garlic, charred
  • 1/4 small onion, charred
  • 1 pack (2 1/4 teaspoons) active dry yeast
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup warm water
  • 3 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon EACH oregano, thyme, basil, sea salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

What I did:

  • Turn on the broiler and put the garlic and onion in a lightly greased baking dish.  Broil for about 10 minutes, allow to cool, peel, and mince.
  • Put the yeast, sugar, and water in your mixing bowl and allow to sit for 10 minutes.
  • Turn on the mixer, add 1 cup flour.
  • Add salt, pepper, and herbs, then 1 cup flour.
  • Add cheese, then 1 cup flour.
  • Switch to dough hook, add the rest of the flour and olive oil.  The dough should be firm enough to handle.  I added another 2 tablespoons during the kneading process.
  • Knead for about 10 minutes, place in a greased bowl, turn, cover, and allow to rise for 45 minutes.
  • Set in/on a greased baking pan or cookie sheet and allow to rise for another 45 minutes.
  • Bake at 350F for 30 minutes or until you think it’s done.

I’m no bread-baking genius, but I give myself some props for this.  It’s a very simple bread with a lot of good flavors in it.  The charring process made the garlic and onions soft and sweet.  The CSA herbs were a nice touch.  And my house is a lot warmer.

Leave a Reply

