Baked Winter Squash with Apples

from Rolling Prairie Cookbook

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs. uncooked winter squash, peeled & cut into cubes
  • 1/2 lb. fresh cranberries (optional)
  • 2 to 3 apples, chopped
  • 1/4 C raisins
  • juice & grated peel of 1 small orange
  • 1 1/4 tbsp. maple syrup (or honey)
  • dash each of salt & cinnamon

What I did:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Combine squash, cranberries, apples and raisins in a small buttered casserole dish.
  • Combine juice, peel, syrup and salt, and pour over squash mixture.
  • Lightly dust with cinnamon, cover, and bake until squash is tender, approximately 30 to 45 minutes.

I  did not have cranberries.

While this doesn’t taste bad by any means, it just isn’t my style.  I like winter squash in a pureed soup, I like it in a hearty winter stew, but in a sweet dish?  It kind of misses the mark for me.  Okay, I take that “sweet dish” remark back: I LOVE pumpkin pie.

This dish is orange-y enough to make my tongue kind of tingly.  Maybe I should have taken it easy with the orange zest…

Leave a Reply

