Cabbage, Potato & Cheese Casserole

Another recipe from the CSA email.  Thanks, First Light Farms!

Ingredients:

  • 5-6 medium potatoes, boiled & mashed (I had only a few potatoes left so I used two red, two yellow, and one sweet potato.  I boiled them for 25 minutes).
  • 1 tablespoon each olive oil and butter
  • 2 large cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 small/med head of cabbage, shredded (clean your cabbage with great care first!  Cabbage from the farm can contain inhabitants…)
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 ounce crumbled feta cheese
  • paprika, salt & pepper to taste

What I did:

  • Cube and set up the potatoes to boil (about 25 minutes, then drain and mash).
  • Clean cabbage thoroughly, then shred.
  • Heat the olive oil & butter in a large saucepan (at medium heat), add garlic and saute until garlic is lightly browned.
  • Add shredded cabbage and saute until just wilted and season to your liking.  The recipe suggests black pepper, but I used a seasoning mix.
  • Lightly grease a baking pan (I did a 9×13, but it was a VERY THIN casserole!)
  • Layer: mashed potatoes, cabbage mixture, cheddar, sprinkle on feta and top with paprika.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes.

This was pretty good.  Not AMAZING or anything, but something I would make again (maybe with crumbled turkey bacon?)… especially since I get a little stuck on what to do with a whole head of cabbage.  The last one I gave to M so he could make kimchi.

I gave a serving to my boss and she said, “Yum!  Stick to your ribs food!”

That’s a fair assessment.

Leave a Reply

