Common Ingredients

When I first joined a CSA last year, I had no idea what I was getting into (in a good way, I promise). One thing that really changed was how I shopped for groceries and planned meals. I don’t know what I will be getting in my box until that very day, so I always have to be prepared! Trader Joe’s is my favorite store for stocking up on the following commonly-used ingredients:

  • Rice – I usually have brown and white long-grain around.
  • Quinoa – I just discovered this and I love it!  It’s more pricey than rice, but a pound of it goes a long way.
  • Pasta – many varieties!
  • Hot sauce – I recommend both the chili and jalapeno from TJs.
  • Olive oil – always buy the big bottle.
  • Vinegar – rice, balsamic, cider, red wine, etc.
  • Dried or fresh herbs – oregano, thyme, basil, rosemary, parsley, etc.
  • Spices – pepper, cumin, turmeric, sea salt, nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice, cardamom, curry, coriander, etc.  Stocking up on these is a LOT cheaper if you get together with friends and order in bulk from a company like Mountain Rose Herbs.  Remember: you can store spices in air-tight containers in your freezer to boost their life span!
  • Stock & Broth – I go through chicken broth like nobody’s business!
  • Flavorful oils & sauces – sesame, soy/tamari, Worcestershire.
  • Beans – kidney, black, garbanzo, etc.
  • Honey
  • Lemons
  • Limes
  • Ginger root
  • Garlic & Onions (if they aren’t being supplied in your CSA box).
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Turkey bacon, chicken sausage, meats you can store in the freezer.
  • Sour dough bread – I pick up free past-date bread from a local recycling site.  I either freeze it or slice it thin, sprinkle it with olive oil, salt & pepper and bake it into toast or crutons.
Leave a Reply

